Skip to main content

Contact Us

In keeping with WVU’s strategic goal of excellence in research and innovation, five  Mountains of Excellence that represent multidisciplinary areas of strength and opportunity were created.

One area is STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math) education. Four colleges initiated a strategic plan focused on a cluster hire of faculty into the WVU Center for Excellence in STEM Education (WVUCE-STEM). Gay Stewart serves as the director of the WVUCE-STEM, coordinating efforts throughout the Eberly College of Arts and Sciences, and across colleges. Keri ValentineJessica Blythe, and Robin Hensel serve as the nodes in their colleges for the more than 60 faculty campus wide who have identified themselves as having an interest in engaging in work in this important area.

Gay Stewart

Gay Stewart

Eberly College of Arts and Sciences, WVU Center for Excellence in STEM Education

WVUCE-STEM Director

Gay's primary research area has been improving physics education for college students, STEM majors and future K-12 teachers.

Physics Faculty Page

(304) 293-5032  |  gbstewart@mail.wvu.edu

Fax: (304) 293-5732
Amanda Backus Profile

Amanda Backus

WVU Center for Excellence in STEM Education

WVUCE-STEM Program Coordinator

WVUCE-STEM Page

(304) 293-5030  I   amanda.backus@mail.wvu.edu 
Jessica Blythe

Jessica Blythe

Davis College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Design

School of Design and Community Development

Resource Management Faculty Page

(304) 293-5536  |  jmblythe@mail.wvu.edu
Fax: (304) 293-3752


Keri Valentine

Keri Valentine

College of Education and Human Services

Department of Curriculum and Instruction/Literacy Studies

CEHS Faculty Page

(304) 293-4335  |  kevalentine@mail.wvu.edu

Dr. Robin Hensel

Robin Hensel

Benjamin M. Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources

Assistant Dean for the Freshman Experience

Statler Faculty Page

(304) 293-0395  |  Robin.Hensel@mail.wvu.edu  


Lynnette Michaluk

WVU Center for Excellence in STEM Education

WVUCE-STEM Research Professor

Faculty Page


(304) 293-5030  |  lynnette.michaluk@mail.wvu.edu